I hate being one of those people…

…you know, the kind that talks and talks (or writes and writes) about losing weight, but never seems to make any notable progress.  Or bloggers who disappear for weeks or months at a time due to “falling off the wagon” and not wanting to admit it to the blogging world.  Yet here we are.

I’ve only done one post in the last six or seven weeks, and it wasn’t even about losing weight.  That’s because I haven’t lost any more weight, in fact re-gaining several pounds, and I hate to admit to the world that I’ve faltered yet again.  But I refuse to say that I’ve failed, because I haven’t given up on myself and I do still see some positive results from my previous efforts.

First of all, I am currently at 268 pounds, so I am still 11 pounds less than my all-time high, and one pound less than when I started this blog.  So that’s something, anyway.

Secondly, although I did not get nearly enough exercise in the last six weeks, I did continue to get some exercise, and even completed a 5K race on May 17th.

Also, I did not return to my old bad habit of candy binges.   I had very little candy during this hiatus from blogging.  Candy has always been a HUGE problem for me, so I am really proud that I did not return to that old nasty habit of buying a pile of candy bars and sneak-eating them.

The worst bad habits that I’ve been allowing to creep back in recently, were eating way too much fast food, and snacking on unhealthy junk such as pastries or chips.  Also, I often eat just too darn much food, stuffing myself instead of stopping when I’m satisfied.  Over the last few days, I have been making a concerted effort to get back on track.  I’ve eaten most meals at home and I’ve avoided pastries and chips, opting more often for fruit.  There is a lot of room for improvement, but it is a start.  Or more accurately, a re-start.  A mulligan, if you will.

So, now that I’m back, what’s up for June?  Well, I need to re-establish some of the positive habits I was working on, before I do anything else.  So these are my June goals:

  • Walk daily.  My minimum will be ten minutes per day, although I will usually do a mile (takes me about 20 minutes) or more.
  • Eat most meals at home.  I will usually stick to the pattern of a sandwich and veggies for lunch, and meat and veggies for supper.
  • Choose healthy snacks.  Keep fresh fruit and raw vegetables on hand at all times.  Take my own healthy snacks along when I travel.
  • Watch my portion sizes.  Don’t eat until I am stuffed.  Wait for a bit before getting seconds to see if I am actually hungry.

That’s it for this month.  Just getting back to a whole lot of common sense.  Back to the basics.  Back on track and taking one tiny step at a time.

Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. That’s a great way to look at it, you definitely aren’t failing, it’s just another bump in the road. Thanks for sharing, I think it really helps people realize that they aren’t alone when they have trouble. Keep it up 🙂

    Reply
  2. Lori

     /  June 5, 2013

    I love this, Elaine! Like, I’m not perfect (dismally far from it), and I think it’s best to just face that…to be honest about who and where I am as a person. It really keeps me from falling too far, as I always do when I’m not open about my failings.
    Thank you so much for sharing this part of yourself with us. I have no doubt you will continue to grow and learn. Blessings.

    Reply
  3. I empathize… hang in there! And great job acknowledging the progress you have made (a little backsliding can’t take that away from you) and picking yourself up and dusting yourself off again. You can do this!

    Reply
  4. The way I look at it is that it’s a long journey, and even if you stop and sit down for a while, or backtrack a ways, it doesn’t take away how far you’ve come and it doesn’t negate the fact that you’re further forward than when you started.
    And the other thing is: when you started, you decided to do this. What’s changed since then? You’re further along than when you made the decision to start. You’ve got more information about what works for you, and what doesn’t to the point of undermining your progress (for instance, I can eat chocolate. No problem. I only need/want one or two squares. But I cannot have liquorice, because I will eat it until the bag is gone, whether or not I’m hungry.)
    I’ve found that even when I’m going out to the pub with my friends, I have to take along snacks. I buy a mineral water or something and then shout my friends to a shared plate of nachos or something. (I can’t eat them because of allergies.) It requires a bit more planning and energy and I feel like a dork. But it’s worth it for social interaction without anxiety.

    Reply
    • Thank you for your comment! Yes, it will be a long journey for me with lots of figuring things out. The idea of bringing your own snacks along when you go out is a good one. I’ve been using that one on occasion, especially if I am going to visit relatives,such as my trip to the lake just yesterday. They always have lots of junk food available, so if I bring something of my own, I find it way easier to pass up all of the goodies they keep around. I even passed up a s’more at the lakeside campfire! (Admittedly, a proud moment for this candy-addict.)

      Reply
  5. Im still Struggling myself —hello my name is Madeleine, and I’m a sugar addict

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comment! Yes, sugar is my biggest downfall as well. I’ve managed to stay away from candy for several months now, but there are still way too many other kinds of sweets in my diet, and it’s a struggle to give them the boot.

      Reply
  6. The biggest part to success is to do what you can and reevaluate that frequently!

    Reply
  7. Hi Elaine. I’m 290 pounds and on this journey as well. I see you doing something I did for years, and it makes weight loss much more difficult. Your weight loss regime is filled with a lot of shoulds and you deserve better than a shoulddy life! Do you know the obesity and perfectionism go hand in hand? Too many times we try to change our lifestyle to fit a diet. For it to work we need to CREATE a plan that works for our individual needs and tastes. It’s doable and there’s no deprivation. I’ve just lost 31 pounds in the past seven weeks, no pills or gimmicks or exercise yet, I need to get some weight off still for my back and knees. I walk a bit. I’m counting calories using the Lose It app and creating low cal recipes in there too. I post them on my blog if you care to see one day. Emotional well being is my focus on this journey as I am a therapist. You can do this sweetie. I’m gonna follow you along and do it with you.

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by, Vicki! Yes, I definitely am too should-y, LOL! There must be more doing and less should-ing. I do tend to fall for that all or nothing, perfectionist kind of attitude. Thanks for your comment and your support! I am now following your blog as well, and I wish you the best in your weight-loss efforts, too!

      Reply
      • Thank you Elaine. Let’s be gentle and kind with ourselves. Hope you have an amazing weekend. It’s the Canada Day long weekend here.

  8. Hope all is well with you! I finally added you to Bethany’s Blogroll. Sorry it took me awhile 🙂

    Reply
  9. Elaine – I know it has been awhile since you posted this but I just wanted to encourage you to stay strong!

    Reply
    • Thank you for commenting on my blog, Diane. I just wanted to say that it means a lot to me. I am subscribed to your blog and never miss a post. They are very inspiring and I look forward to each and every one of them. I haven’t posted lately on my blog, but I continue to push forward into breaking old habits and learning new skills to finally lose weight. Thank you! ~Elaine

      Reply
  10. I totally feel ya Elaine. It takes guts to paint a picture of the journey in it’s highs AND lows but doing it makes you appreciate the good times more. Keep up the good work, I’m rooting for you!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for your comment and your support. Yes, it is a struggle, but I keep pushing on. 🙂

      Reply
  11. This is very good here. I enjoyed to read this. Thank you.

    Reply
  12. Fattie no more

     /  June 5, 2014

    If you are back with a plan, then really nothing to be ashamed of! You are going to get through this slump and rock the next 10, 20, 30 pounds:)

    I have only just started blogging….so I may be one of those that disappears due to binge eating, but I hope not, I hope the blog keeps me accountable. Share your down days and your good days….celebrate every step. I can’t wait to see where your journey takes you:)

    Reply
  13. Fattie no more

     /  June 5, 2014

    Shoot, I got my year wrong, I see this is 5 June 2013?? So update us on what has been happening.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

